Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Help! Still in nappies age 5..Anyone in same situation?

(36 Posts)
Becs2006 Tue 23-May-06 12:32:39

Hi,

I am new to Mumsnet and was hoping to find some advice or reassurance for my sister who is having problems with her ds and potty training. He is now 5 and refusing to give up nappies. As a full time Mum who used day care/nanny from an early age, my sister left his potty training late - believing that when he was ready to give up he would... this seems to have been too late and and now he is refusing to give up his nappies or co-operate with potty training.

At school this is now a real problem, until 4 there were other children still in nappies but now age 5 this is difficult for him and her. Does anyone have any similar experiences? As a working mum has anyone else found a problem with finding the time to do this or left it too late? Where can you go for help to deal with this problem and do you think that it could have an affect on him in later life?

Anyone with any experience or advice, personal or from other mum's would be much appreciated...my sisiter feels that she has done wrong and is worried...but what is the solution, ...do children seem to be potty training later because of hectic lifestyles and the fact that they now make nappies for older kids?

Any thoughts at all??

mrspf Wed 24-May-06 00:16:09

I thought i'd reply a no-one else has although i do not have experience of this (as i opted for early training), but i have heard that one option is to just tell them you are not buying any more nappies after the current lot run out! I guess this may have been tried before and would not go down well but i can't think of any other way, except rewards (new toy) or privileges taken away (favourite toy/tv programme).

Skribble Wed 24-May-06 00:28:09

It probably is harder to toilet train if things are hectic.