Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

Can't get rid of pee smell from Bumgenius!

(8 Posts)
ZucchiniPie Fri 26-Aug-11 16:04:06

I've tried everything - using very little detergent; cold wash first with no detergent, etc. - but I cannot get the pee smell out of my Bumgenius nappies, particularly the outer layer. I use a hemp booster with the Bumgenius microfibre one, and funnily enough - even though they're the bit that absorbs most of the pee - the hemp ones come out smelling fine. The microfibre boosters come out pretty much ok (though not completely fresh) and then, as I say, it's the waterproof outer which I just can't get to smell clean. I've been using them for about 18 months.

Any top tips? Thanks!

nannyl Fri 26-Aug-11 22:36:59

i was given a load of nappies that smelt really bad of pee.
also some wraps / boosters and a wet bag that all had the same smell.

This worked for me and i was shocked at how well it worked... the whole load came out as new....

i soaked them in a bucket of water with a splash of vingar...... maybe 50mls is to a 13 litre bucket of water for 3 hours
i then soaked them over night in a napisan solution. (1tbsp in the whole bucket)

I washed them at 60 with napisan and a TINY amount of ariel BIOLOGICAL powder, and used the extra rinse setting on my machine

i then did 2 more rinses in the machine

i hung them to dry in the sunshine and they were good as new afterwards smile also some had some poo stains that looked like they had been and would be there for ever, and (with the sunshine) every hint of poo stain vanished too.

(they smelt so strong before i wanted to try every tip in 1 go!!!!)

ZucchiniPie Sat 27-Aug-11 16:16:40