Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for discussing nappies. If you want to buy or sell reusable nappies, please use our For Sale/Wanted boards.

total newbie - disposables for newborns

(10 Posts)
Rootatoot Thu 02-Jun-11 09:37:05

Hello

My first baby is due in august and I'm starting to get things together but I haven't got a clue about nappies. I'm going to go with disposables but I'd like to know which are good and what is a good price for them please? I see offers in supermarkets all the time but having never bought them before, I don't know if it's good offer or not! Also, don't know if huggies/pampers are better than own branded ones.

Any insight gratefully received thank you smile

RantAboutToStart Thu 02-Jun-11 14:43:21

I start off with Pampers New Baby which I found to be the best with really runny newborn poo, www.boots.com/en/Pampers-New-Baby-Size-1-Carry-pack-27-Nappies_1051485/

Once baby gets a bit bigger I found it ok to switch to a cheaper brand and love the supermarket own brands. Particularly Aldi, Lidl and Tesco.

As a rule of thumb a full price newborn branded nappy is about 13-15pence each, so a pack of say 25 being about £3.50.
Own brand, full price newborn nappies are about 10-11 pence each, so a pack of 25 would be about £2.50.

Rootatoot Thu 02-Jun-11 20:56:51

That's brill Rant - thanks. I actually bought some today whilst I was out with SIL as she has a Costco card. It was £9.99 for 80 pampers new baby, so think did ok there. smile

Stephdelabriere Sat 11-Jun-11 11:57:19

If you go for disposable because you cannot afford the initial cost of washables, have a look at napnaphq.com: you can ask your friends to buy you a few vouchers from there and you can then choose the washable nappies you want. Even if you could only buy a few, you could use them once a week and save some money that way.

LaWeasel Sat 11-Jun-11 12:02:34