Talk

Advanced search

Can students claim childcare grant for a nanny?

(3 Posts)
Rubii Wed 01-Nov-17 09:31:12

Hi everyone,

I'm a full time student at uni in England. I've recently separated from my husband (the kids dad) and need to sort out childcare for my children asap as before this the children's dad was looking after them.

I have someone who is willing to become a nanny, so undertake the first aid, dbs, ofsted registration, get insurance and do the core skills course.
I would need her for around 30-35 hours hours a week term time and slightly more during school holidays. I believe a nanny is usually classed as employed and not self employed? Is this correct? She will only be working for me.

My main concern is if I would be eligible for help towards the childcare costs from Student Finance. I have looked on the Student Finance guidelines and it says provided the childcarer is Ofsted registered, then you are eligible for the childcare grant.

Has anyone claimed the childcare element from Student Finance for a nanny?

Any help or info would be much appreciated as I don't want her to pay for dbs, first aid,
Ofsted registration, insurance and the core skills course only to find I can't get help through student finance and so can't employ her.

nannynick Wed 01-Nov-17 20:12:37

>I'm a full time student at uni in England. I have someone who is willing to become a nanny, so undertake the first aid, dbs, ofsted registration, get insurance and do the core skills course.

Great. How long will that take them? Ofsted aim to process registrations in 12 weeks. It can be quicker, it can take longer.
Before applying your nanny needs to have an Enhanced DBS check, which can take a few days to a few months.

>I would need her for around 30-35 hours hours a week term time and slightly more during school holidays. I believe a nanny is usually classed as employed and not self employed? Is this correct?