Talk

Advanced search

Any nannies around?

(9 Posts)
SundayNC Sun 22-Oct-17 16:35:30

I’m just looking for some advice really. I am currently a nursery nurse and I just graduated with my early years degree. I have 3 years experience working in a nursery but am now looking for a change. The change is not due to my dislike of the job or setting. I adore the children I work with and have worked with them since they were small babies. I also love the people I work with and think we make a fantastic team. I am considering leaving due to some personal issues with my manager (not work related, more just a conflict of interests) and get the feeling it would be best for all involved if I went to work elsewhere. Also the pay in nurseries is pretty appalling and with my degree and few years experience, feel I deserve more than minimum wage. Not sure why any of that’s relevant but just abit of background.

I am with a nanny agency and have been to one interview and got the job, however I declined it in the end because I was really unsure if it was what I wanted to do and didn’t want to mess the family around.

Basically my fear is that I will be really lonely and get bored working alone as a nanny. I’m a fairly sociable person and enjoy working with my colleagues at the nursery, I feel like I bounce well off other people and that working with others makes me a better practitioner.

I was really sad to decline the nanny job offer because the family were lovely and the children were really sweet. Due to the age of the children I think the role would have been challenging but with my experience working with children the same age I could have done it just fine and really helped them grow.