Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for surveys for Mumsnet HQ and their clients. If you'd like to commission a survey of MN members email insight@mumsnet.com. Non MN surveys will be deleted.

Does your child want to be a fashion designer?

(12 Posts)
PRW10 Mon 29-Aug-16 17:49:43

Hi everyone, I hope that you’re enjoying this bank holiday (even if the weather is being typically British..)?

I am a fashion designer and I am currently writing an online course which helps to advise teenagers/young adults about fashion design and what it’s like to be a designer. I want to be transparent about my job and what it really entails, not the champagne-sipping, air-kissing, sweetie darling version that you see in the films!

I’m going to be giving a true inside look to the industry and I will chart the career route a future designer might take to get into the business. I’ll be giving great advice from working professionals and taking a look at how they have progressed in their own careers

What I’d really like to know from you, especially from anyone who has daughter or son wanting to pursue this career, is what you need to know so I can answer those questions! Sometimes these creative industries and the jobs included are not so obvious to anyone outside so I’m here to help- just let me know what I can do for you!

A huge thanks in advance! x

MatchsticksForMyEyes Mon 29-Aug-16 17:53:05

Is Art A level alone fine, or do you need something technology-based such as textiles?
Which degree course did you do? Is an apprenticeship worthwhile? Are they available? Is it best to be London-based?

drinkingtea Mon 29-Aug-16 17:56:23