Talk

Advanced search

This topic is for Q&As arranged by MNHQ. If you have questions about the site and how it runs, please do post in Site Stuff topic. If want to know about Q&A opportunities, please mail sales@mumsnet.com.

How many teachers have a no toilet in lesson rule?

(21 Posts)
techteach Sun 02-Apr-17 11:11:46

As a teacher i usually refuse loo requests unless they have a note from a parent about a medical problem. Or if they are really desperate i will let them go as a one off

What do other teachers do?

pieceofpurplesky Sun 02-Apr-17 11:45:14

If they have a pass fine. If it is the first time they have ever asked (previous lessons etc.) fine. If they say they feel unwell fine. If they ask every single lesson and/or go missing for ages not fine. They are then told they can go but will make up the time they missed at break/lunch. Works for me

Aliveinwanderland Sun 02-Apr-17 11:48:54

Depends on school policy. My school is no toilet in lesson time unless they have a medical condition. I sometimes use my discretion and override this if I think a child is really desperate. We have 3 lessons in a row so it can mean no toilet access for well over 3 hours, longer if the child has a long walk to school.

techteach Sun 02-Apr-17 11:52:55

Alive

3 lessons in a row is too long, 1 hour 40 minutes is the longest a child in my class would have to wait.

cheminotte Sun 02-Apr-17 11:54:25

Are you primary or secondary OP ?

techteach Sun 02-Apr-17 11:56:54

Secondary

PotteringAlong Sun 02-Apr-17 11:59:37

Our school policy is no one is allowed out without a medical pass. You are not allowed to use your discresion. I don't let anyone out without a pass.

techteach Sun 02-Apr-17 12:03:54

Same here Pottering

If i use discretion which is very rare i can face a backlash from SMT

I am having problems with a couple of classes who constantly ask and will not take no for answer

what do you recommend?

missyB1 Sun 02-Apr-17 12:10:29