Talk

Advanced search

Different birthdays... WWYD

(14 Posts)
YouAndMePlus3 Tue 10-Jan-17 14:05:49

As the title says...my soon to be 2 year old twins have different birthdays. Last year we celebrated on their respective and correct birthdays but Day 2 felt very 'deja vu' So what would you do? Continue celebrating separately to preserve their individuality or celebrate both on the same day forevermore?
Interested to know :-)

MollyHuaCha Tue 10-Jan-17 14:07:41

Unusual! I'd poss celebrate their birthdays together, alternating the day each year? I also read about twins born in different years, one in 2016 and one in 2017.

strawberrypenguin Tue 10-Jan-17 14:08:54

I have no twin experience but I think I'd do separate days until they can choose. It's what I'd do for other siblings if they had birthdays close together. Besides which day do you choose twin 1's or twin 2's?

YouAndMePlus3 Tue 10-Jan-17 14:20:00

I am not sure what to choose.. IF we were to celebrate on one day I would have thought we would choose twin two who was born minutes in to the new day rather than the twin that was born The day before... because then they are both legally that age by the second day (if that makes sense?!)

But... we're cheating twin one out of their actual birthday and if/when they knew this they might be cross/annoyed. In the beginning it was a great talking point and a novelty but I'm wondering if it would have been easier to wait and held off the pushing until they both fell in the same day .. ha! X

TheTantrumCometh Tue 10-Jan-17 14:24:53

I would keep it separate until they are old enough to express an opinion on it. Maybe plan a couple of things to do that are different and do one on each day. Like soft play and the parks etc

caperboo Tue 10-Jan-17 14:31:04