Working after having twins

(9 Posts)
RockerMummy184 Mon 11-May-15 12:53:18

This is something that DH and I have been discussing since we found out I was having twins and just wondered if anyone has any advice/wants to share their concerns?

I have 1 DS (2) and work full time. I had initially planned on going back to work once I'd had the twins and my maternity leave finished, but from a financial point of view I don't think I am going to be able to.

Having to pay full time childcare for 3 children will mean I am spending more than my salary each month on childminders, (if they were to go to a nursery it would be even more expensive).

I couldn't be a 100% SAHP as my sanity would suffer if I didn't get out and do something, and we couldn't manage on just 1 income, but I just can't see how I can go back to my current job. (There is no option of doing the same role but part time, as I work in finance and it would not be commercially viable for my company.)

I also don't think it is fair on the children for me to be leaving them for 45 hours a week, when there is no benefit to it from a financial/social point of view.

Anyone been in this position?

Nolim Mon 11-May-15 13:18:15

I havent been in that position but probably a nany is cheaper than 3 nursery fees?

GuybrushThreepwoodMP Tue 12-May-15 06:15:41

I am in a similar position, although I am fortunate enough to work part time (20 hours).
I am going to continue working as, like you said, my sanity will suffer. We will take a financial hit but I consider it an investment for my future employability.
Also-
1) My dd will be 3 and so will get 15 free hours at nursery. If the conservatives keep their promise, it should be more so essentially her childcare will be free.