Talk

Advanced search

Mixed race hair help!

(22 Posts)
TJTR1 Wed 08-Jul-15 23:13:32

I'm a single mum with a mixed Afro-Caribbean/white daughter with beautiful tight coil like ringlets but I have no idea how to care for her hair and as its getting longer I need some help! I know some of these are silly questions but please bare with me I just want to make sure I can keep her hair lovely!

1) should I brush it? What sort of comb or brush is best?
2) after washing I am leaving to dry naturally but as it gets longer should I do this? Is blow drying going to damage her hair? I have read something about wrapping the hair but unsure what this really is!
3) what are the best products to use?
4) are there any good websites to show me how to braid and style her hair as it gets longer?

If there's anything else I need to know please tell me as I have zero knowledge on how to care for her hair!

Thank you all x

Fairygodfucker Wed 08-Jul-15 23:24:35

My ds is mixed and had beautiful ringlets. I found that brushing it turned it into a frizzy mess so I only brushed it when I was working through the conditioner. I always let it air dry so I can't comment on question 2.
We tried a lot of products for his hair. I found the Afro stuff was too heavy whilst the 'normal' (crap choice of word but I hope you know what I mean) was too drying. We have been using twisted sista stuff which really seems to suit his hair. I used to send him off to his great aunts for her to braid his hair when it got really long as I can barely plait so I've no idea about question 4 in afraid. Sorry.
His ddad cut off his hair and it's grown back in big ringlets/waves which is grounds for divorce annoying but he loves his mad scientist Afro grin

TJTR1 Wed 08-Jul-15 23:29:43