Talk

Advanced search

Spontaneous miscarriage at 11 wks, followed by heavy bleeding for 6 wks. Is this unusual?

(9 Posts)
portobellogirl Thu 20-Aug-09 22:12:10

Hello, I am new to MN and I'm wondering if anyone here might have had a similar experience to mine?

Back story: I am 41, always wanted children, somehow never found right person to have them with (several commitment-phobic boyfs), but then met the right person, whom I adore, last Christmas and conceived naturally in May. Both delighted and cautiously excited ...

Then, light spotting at 7 wks, nothing like blood, just a pale brown discharge, but GP was sympathetic and sent me for scan, where we saw heartbeat. Follow-up scan showed heartbeat at 9 wks, and that fetus had grown, doctors said all normal ... so we felt reasonably confident.

At 11 wks pregnant, I had to go to family wedding in North Wales (without father-to-be) - and started bleeding the moment I sat down in church. Abandoned reception, returned to hotel and within a couple of hours was having excrutiatingly painful contractions and passing huge amounts of blood and tissue. All very violent and visceral, as well as heartbreaking. My mother returned from wedding reception v worried and called ambulance. I got taken to Gwynedd Hospital in Bangor, and was eventually examined and given gas and air after I had repeated my postcode five times. Kind midwife said it was possible fetus could be OK, and I held onto that hope as hospital could not give me a scan for 36 hrs (no scans at weekends). But scan on Monday confirmed empty pregnancy sac: poor babe must have slipped down the loo at hotel on Saturday night while I was screaming.