Talk

Advanced search

Feeling better after miscarriage - tips

(4 Posts)
NewtothisFBK4921 Mon 09-Sep-19 15:11:51

Hello, I had a surgical miscarriage last week (Wednesday) at about 8 weeks and took Thursday and Friday off work. I was okay at the weekend, just a bit sore, but today I'm back at work and finding it really hard. Crying a lot (in secret). I never felt too sad about the loss as such, more upset at what my body had to got though, but still I can't stop crying which I assume is the hormones and shock of everything now it's over.

Do you have any tips how to feel better? Did you do anything nice that worked? I don't like feeling low and want to feel myself again.

Also, I seem to have put on half a stone which I have never done before. Hoping it will drop off now my body isn't pregnant but ideally I don't want to indulge in too many naughty treats as not being able to do up my jeans isn't that fun! Did anyone else find they put on weight and did it just go away again?

OP’s posts: |
Buffy101 Sat 14-Sep-19 11:13:17

Sorry for your loss. To be honest I've just recently had a natural miscarriage this week so I'm still in the middle of it all. I was however almost expecting it as my early scans weren't looking great. What has helped me so far is the following
1) Buying something to commemorate the baby, I bought a little bird garden sculpture. It makes me feel a bit of comfort when I look at it.
2) Trying to journal my feelings and use self compassion
3) watching light hearted programmes
4) if you have a friend who's been through a similar loss texting them. Some of my friends have been hit and miss in their understanding but my friend Amy has been amazing.
5) cuddles from your significant other
6) looking at cute animal pictures

Big hugs to you xx

Cpr12 Sat 14-Sep-19 20:29:31