Talk

Advanced search

Breastfeeding during miscarriage

(7 Posts)
MeerkatMerkin Mon 08-Apr-13 18:40:34

Wasn't sure where to put this - in here or in the breastfeeding section. Sorry if it upsets anyone.

Has anyone breastfed through a miscarriage? I am wondering if breastfeeding 2yo DS will be painful in terms of causing the uterus to contract and expel what remains. This is probably effective in the long run though, right?

Also, I am booked in for a ERPC tomorrow morning. Will it be safe to breastfeed him in the evening? It will have been quite a few hours since the GA. I hadn't even thought to ask the doctor any of this. My head is swimming with questions.

EldonAve Mon 08-Apr-13 22:17:56

Sorry for your loss
It's best to tell the anaesthetist during your pre op chat and ask them then

Wildwaterfalls Tue 09-Apr-13 10:11:30

So sorry for your loss. I'm afraid I have no experience with bfing during an mc but just wanted to say I hope you are ok, and that the doctor was able to answer the questions this morning.

PicardyThird Tue 09-Apr-13 10:16:39

I'm so sorry this has happened to you.

I've bf through two miscarriages. I had an ERPC for both but I don't remember the bf causing any afterpains. I should think the amount a 2yo is a) feeding and b) getting would have fairly minimal effects in terms of uterine contractions. (Have also bf throughout pregnancy and placenta praevia, and was warned in dire terms about contractions but it was fine).

IIRC I did bf my ds in the afternoon/evening after the ERPCs (he was 14 and 16 months when I had the mcs so a bit younger than yours). It is only a light anaesthetic and by the time it's out of your system I don't think there'd be much to pass through to the milk.

MeerkatMerkin Tue 09-Apr-13 10:40:57