Talk

Advanced search

Mumsnet has not checked the qualifications of anyone posting here. If you have any medical concerns do consult your GP.

anyone else a bit whiffy?

(16 Posts)
OsbegaEthewulf Mon 07-Jun-10 15:50:51

I'm almost 47 and periods still regular but have noticed changes to mood, sleeping etc.

I have noticed the fact that although I'm not having hot flushes as such my anti perspirant ain't working anymore and I smell 'hot' like scorched ironing or clothes left in the airing cupbaord too long. DH also commented after lots of prompting that my hair/head smells a couple of hours after washing!

Anyone else or am I the MN stinker!

hugglymugly Tue 08-Jun-10 19:38:07

Belated reply - but I noticed a change in my body odour when going through the menopause (in my early 50s). I'm not good at describing smells, and I can only describe my underarm odour as being "chemical", which is probably not very helpful. grin

That was only a few years ago, and I was disappointed at the time to find that there seemed little information about what to expect/what's normal around the menopause and advice on how to deal with the various issues.

It wouldn't be surprising that the hormonal changes parallel in some ways those around the time of puberty, so it's probably a case of going through the exercise of finding the right anti-perspirant/deodorant all over again. I showered every day, and frequently changed anti-perspirant I was using - I think at one time I had four different types - but there were times when I had to keep my arms clamped to my sides! There was one "flavour" of anti-perspirant that worked the best, but I didn't actually like the smell of that.

I've found that my hair still needs washing every other day, as it still gets greasy fairly quickly. I change my brand of shampoo quite often as well, though that doesn't seem to make much difference.