Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

When meeting up take sensible precautions. Meet in a public place and let others know where you are going. You can also meet mums on your local site here.

New in FARNBOROUGH and looking fo mum-friends

(26 Posts)
Eshay Wed 27-Apr-05 10:48:32

Hi, I'm Eshay and have a 9.5 month old son. We have just moved to Farnborough and would love to meet some other mums and babies or toddlers.

piffle Wed 27-Apr-05 11:05:46

I moved out of that area 6 mths ago, but would recommend the local NCT, it's a really active and social branch Lots of coffee mornings and they had recently really put some work into getting a good Farnborough coffee mornings/bumps and babies meet ups and so forth on the calendar.
Try the head office and they'll put you through to your local branch.

Eshay Thu 28-Apr-05 21:26:14

Thanks Piffle!

charellie Thu 28-Apr-05 21:58:19

I live in Sandhurst and have 2.6 year old twin girls if you want to meet up sometime

Eshay Fri 29-Apr-05 09:00:59

Hi Charellie,

Thanks, yes I would like to meet up. My DS loves children of all ages and has a particular interest in older women
I don't have a car at the moment but I see Sandhurst is only 11 minuntes by train from North Camp so that should not be a problem. As I'm new in these parts I'm afraid I can't suggest any good places to meet. Do you have any ideas?

Anyone else is welcome too of course!

charellie Sat 30-Apr-05 18:31:59

Sorry, only just saw your message. As you don't have a car maybe we could meet local to Farnborough. Are there any parks or indoor play areas near you? I will have a look on the internet to see if there is anything.

Eshay Wed 04-May-05 11:19:05

Hi Charellie, that is kid of you, thanks. Hopefully I'll be a bit more mobile soon but I quite enjoy going for long walks.

I know of a \link{http://www.fizzykids.co.uk\FizzyKids here in North Camp. I've never been to any place like it so I'm quite keen to go and have a look. They do charge an admission price, £3.50 for under 4's so let me know if that's too pricey.
There's a small park near my house but I'll have a look for some other parks as well.

When would suit you? I'm fairly flexible this month but from June I can only do Thurs and Fri.

Eshay Wed 04-May-05 11:19:40

Oops, I screwed up the link....
Anyway, it's www.fizzykids.co.uk

charellie Wed 04-May-05 12:04:48

Hi

Fizzykids should be a good place to meet up. I'm quite busy the next couple of weeks but am free after 25th May on Wed, Thurs, Fri mornings. Let me know which dates are best for you.

Shall we meet at around 10am?

Eshay Fri 06-May-05 11:22:59

Oh oh... Sounds like it might end up being a bit difficult to meet up as DS sleeps from 10 to 11.30 or 12 these days. This pattern might change when he starts nursery on 31 May, you never know. But until that time: Other options are to meet at 9 and keep it short or meet at 11.30 (I would wake him a bit early in the morning and move his schedule forward a bit). Would that be too late for you?

charellie Fri 06-May-05 13:54:51

Ok, why don't we meet at the park instead then. We can always do Fizzy kids next time. I'll let you choose the time as my dd's don't have a sleep until 1pm and if we meet later in the morning I could always bring their lunch with me.

Let me know what you think

Eshay Wed 11-May-05 15:39:19

Sorry for taking so long. I've been a bit busy with DS's tummy problem so no time to think of playdates

There's a nice park in North Camp, Farnborough just off Queens Road (on the north side). If you look it up on Streetmap, the entrance to the park is about where the letter S in the word QUEENS is, in between Sherborne Road and Yeovil Road. There is a sign on Queens Road marked 'Recreation Ground' (plus some other things) to tell you where to turn into the parking area.

I think the earliest I can make it is Thursday 2 June. I can't believe it's almost June again! Will 11.15 suit? I can't make it any earlier I'm afraid or the boy will just be too tired.

macwoozy Wed 11-May-05 16:03:00

Hi Eshay.

Sorry if I'm butting in here, but seeing you're new to Farnborough, I thought maybe you might need a bit of help to know of all the parks that you could take your ds, I also live in Farnborough so I might be able to help you. Although I didn't know of the park off Queens Road.

Whereabouts do you live in Farnborough? Have you settled in alright?

Eshay Thu 12-May-05 08:36:29

Hi Macwoozy,

I've been here for 3 weeks now and so far I'm enjoying life here. Thanks for asking. We're in North Camp. Where are you?

I looked on the Rushmoor Borough Council website to find out about parks and playgrounds. The Queens Road playground is not too far from me but I'm also planning on going for some longer walks and check out some other ones.

You're most welcome to join us of course, or if that doesn't work with dates and times, we could arrange something else if you are up for it. My son is just over 10 months now. What about your child(ren)?

charellie Tue 17-May-05 13:46:08

Hi, I can make 2nd June. Will contact you nearer the time to confirm.

See you then.

sarahlou1 Tue 17-May-05 14:45:43

Hi, I'm Sarah and have just moved to Droitwich, Worcestershire, from Durham, I have a 2 year old daughter and would love to meet some other mums & toddlers.

sarahlou1 Tue 17-May-05 14:56:24

Sorry, first time on this site & posted message to wrong bit!!!

macwoozy Tue 17-May-05 15:30:43

HI again Eshay, glad to hear you're settling in OK, Farnborough is not so bad really.

Thanks for inviting me but my ds is 5 now, so I don't go to the parks during the day anymore. Well, unless he drags me there after school.

Thats a good site you mentioned, I didn't know half those parks existed.

Eshay Tue 17-May-05 19:52:16

Charellie - great. I'm looking forward to meeting you and the girls.

Macwoozy - Too bad you can't make it but I suppose school is a good excuse

charellie Wed 01-Jun-05 11:01:17

Eshay. Just checking you are still ok to meet up tomorrow. I accept CAT so you can contact me that way.

Eshay Wed 01-Jun-05 15:31:29

Hey, I just CATted you so you should get my email address shortly. If that doesn't work I can just tell you what me and ds look like and we should be able to meet that way.

charellie Wed 01-Jun-05 15:45:04

Email not received yet and I have to leave for work soon so just in case just to confirm we are meeting at 11.15 tomorrow as the park on Queens Road.

I will try to describe my twins. They are 2 years 6 months. She will be wearing a blue checked fleece
Ellie has dark blonde hair. Charlotte has brown hair in a bob. She will be wearing a pink fleece
If it is cold I will be wearing a pink coat and I have long blonde hair.

Looking forward to meeting up with you.

colletteg Wed 01-Jun-05 16:46:56

hi, sorry to butt in on your conversation, i live in farnborough too, i have alittle girl age 5 and a boy age 8 months, at my daughters school PINEWOOD they do mother and baby meets on tues thursday and fri morning, at 9.30 - 11.30am its free and coffee and bics are included, its really friendly and quite a few mums there,i go with my baby and he loves it, also thinking of taking him to a mum and music class too

colletteg Wed 01-Jun-05 17:14:22

piffle, can you please tell me where the nct is in farnborough ...

Eshay Wed 01-Jun-05 21:07:29

Thanks for that info, ColetteG. I might try it out someday. I wanted to join mum and baby singing class too but it didn't work out with times and days. Instead I've been to the library a few times, they do Baby Rhyme Time there on Thursdays (2.15pm). This is singing songs together with the babies. It's free and gets quite busy. I might go again next week.

I'll be finding out about the NCT in F'bro soon as I'm pregnant again and will join. I didn't for ds and felt like I missed out on meeting people. So if Piffle doesn't have the answer I might have it for you in a while.

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now