Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

Are there any primal or paleo eaters around?

(15 Posts)
KinkyDorito Fri 23-Oct-15 09:48:33

I'm new to this, trying it for health reasons (although do need to lose weight).

I wondered what difference eating this way has made to people.

Blodss Fri 23-Oct-15 23:53:27

Hi Kinky. I eat this way both for health and I have lost weight with it too.
I started at the end of June and have lost over a stone. I hadn't been able lose weight for the last 3 years (although I didn't gain) and eating this way has seen the weight come off slowly. I feel better too and don't ache or get stiff and my menopausal hot flushes are gone. It was cutting out diary that really seemed to stop them (all those hormones in cows milk).

KinkyDorito Sat 24-Oct-15 13:56:07

Hi Blodss. I thought it was just going to be me for a while there! I'm on Day 5, feeling okay but my stomach is not loving me at the moment. I think I'm adapting to the fat.

I have fibromyalgia and I've read that this can help. I'm willing to try anything, even starting to eat meat again after 26 years.

It's good to hear you've done really well on it. Thanks thanks thanks.

Blodss Sat 24-Oct-15 20:02:08

I don't eat extra fat. I only tend to eat fat if it comes with the food as in avocado, chicken with skin, full fat mince steak etc. I don't eat dairy at all.
I do make some lovely paleo treats though which are yummy. I use pure maple syrup or date nectar to sweeten things. I get IBS and migraines and I have found that this way of eating really helps. Also my body feels less stiff.

helenahandbag Mon 26-Oct-15 09:23:10

I've done some googling but there is so much conflicting information out there - can someone tell me what the difference is between paleo, primal and normal low carbing?

I'm currently low carbing, keeping my carb count under 30g a day and I'm avoiding all dairy except butter and cheese.

Blodss Mon 26-Oct-15 21:18:11