Talk

Advanced search

Quick no cook breakfast ideas

(20 Posts)
Oddsocks15 Wed 12-Apr-17 07:58:35

Newbie here - please could I have some quick no cook breakfast ideas. I have a full time job and 3 kids, I have hardly any time in the mornings. Before LC, I have lived off a diet of breakfast cereal as a) I thought they were "healthy" and b) quick to prepare.

Thanks!

user1471558436 Wed 12-Apr-17 08:00:51

Greek yogurt and handful of frozen berries

user1471558436 Wed 12-Apr-17 08:01:33

Banana and some nuts

user1471558436 Wed 12-Apr-17 08:02:23

Grapefruit

highinthesky Wed 12-Apr-17 08:02:41

Avocado.
Salad.
Natural yoghurt.
Fruit (non-tropical).
Cheese.

None of the above will elicit an insulin response. Can you tell I'm a vegetarian? grin

HapShawl Wed 12-Apr-17 08:04:46

Do you have time/energy to cook the night before? E.g. Eggs

(Bananas and grapefruits aren't low carb)

Ebbenmeowgi Wed 12-Apr-17 08:05:03

Smoothie with handful of oats and/or peanut butter in it, eg banana, dates, avocado, cocoa and milk

Ebbenmeowgi Wed 12-Apr-17 08:06:04

Or overnight oats.

Oddsocks15 Wed 12-Apr-17 08:09:44

Thanks ! I'm confused over yoghurt.

On another forum I read only certain brands were recommended eg; Yeo Valley, Alpro but another forum says any yoghurt but not low-fat, another says only Greek yoghurt and another says avoid altogether.

Please keep the tips coming! I'm on day 4 of LC and have eaten eggs every day so need some new ideas!

HapShawl Wed 12-Apr-17 08:10:09

OP are you doing boot camp (looking at the section you're posting in)?

Because what some people are advising here is not boot camp friendly, but it may be that you're just looking to reduce starches/sugar in which case that's fine

Oats/bananas/dates etc are all high carb

Ragwort Wed 12-Apr-17 08:10:20

Oats are not low carb grin.

Best thing would be greek yogurt with a few berries.

Slices of cheese/ham with some nuts?

Make a frittata (sp?) the night before and eat cold?