Talk

Advanced search

Another NY city question. YMCA Harlem?

(16 Posts)
angollady Sat 03-Mar-18 14:17:34

I have booked a trip to NY for 5 days to NY in May. (Glad to see on another thread it is the best time of year to go.) Actually, the very, very cheap flight I am booked on flies into Newark. It's my first time and I am very excited.

I have made a hotel reservation via booking.com for the YMCA in Harlem which is about £70 a night, which seems to be one of the cheapest places. You pay on arrival. The reviews on Trip adviser were mixed.

Has anyone got experience of staying in Harlem? Or suggestions as to somewhere I could look at, which would be a similar price, but commutable as the centre seems beyond my price range?

TIA

OP’s posts: |
AttilaTheMeerkat Sat 03-Mar-18 15:29:26

Can you cancel this reservation?. Cheap is not always cheerful either.

You're better off staying somewhere far more central than Harlem, its too far out and you could spend a lot of time simply travelling about on the train to go anywhere.

The NYC subway system is also very antiquated and needs a lot of repair works done to it, it could take at least 40 minutes to commute from there into Manhattan itself.

strongandlong Sat 03-Mar-18 16:57:12

It doesn't look that far out to me. Harlem is on Manhattan, just a long way uptown.

This website gives you travel times from any point in the city: project.wnyc.org/transit-time/

Trailedanderror Sat 03-Mar-18 17:02:57

The Salisbury Hotel is safe comfortable and cheaper. And it's between Time Square and Central Park and so much much better situated.

AttilaTheMeerkat Sat 03-Mar-18 17:41:08

I have stayed at the Salisbury Hotel also and can recommend it.

angollady Sat 03-Mar-18 18:39:26

Salisbury Hotel looks great which is probably why it is double the price of the Harlem YMCA and sadly I cant afford it.

Trailedanderror Sat 03-Mar-18 21:34:04

Sign in with Facebook- I was getting $90/ night for May when I looked earlier today.