Talk

Advanced search

Florida - what time is best to go?

(20 Posts)
sweetkitty Sun 11-Feb-18 20:39:16

Starting to plan our big Florida trip we've dreamt of for year, 4DC. Got to go in school holidays as I'm a teacher so when would you recommend going? Easter or end of June/beginning July?

Thanks

budgiegirl Mon 12-Feb-18 08:14:02

I’d go at Easter over July. July can be very hot and humid, with quite a lot of thunderstorms and rain showers (although these are generally short)

The weather is much nicer at Easter, still quite hot and sunny, with fewer storms, and not nearly as humid.

The Easter weekend is very busy though. If your school holidays allow, I’d do 10 days or so doing the parks prior to Easter, then either go to the beach for the Easter weekend, or budget for ‘skip the line’ passes ( depending on which park you’re going to).

swimster01 Mon 12-Feb-18 08:21:32

Yes, Easter is better than July. July is better than October.

sweetkitty Mon 12-Feb-18 09:53:13

Thank you, only thing about Easter is we only have 2 weeks holidays so it would be a rush when we get back IYSWIM.

sweetkitty Mon 12-Feb-18 09:53:42

Can't do October as only have one weeks holiday.

Pompom42 Mon 12-Feb-18 09:55:24

We went last year July into August. Yes thunderstorms but we didn’t mind as quite refreshing. I don’t mind extreme heat but I know it’s not for everyone.
If I went again I’m looking at Easter for next time. Seems to be cheaper too.

Valentinesfart Mon 12-Feb-18 09:56:32

Easter is nicer weather but it's also spring break and depending on where you go it's best avoided for the hordes of drunk teenage students who descend upon it.

Autumn is still hot if you have time off and winter can actually be really nice if you are doing Disney and theme parks etc with all the Christmas decorations.

Valentinesfart Mon 12-Feb-18 09:58:09

29 Average high for October
25 Average high for November
23 Average high for December.

Valentinesfart Mon 12-Feb-18 09:59:39