Talk

Advanced search

San Francisco - car hire essential?

(33 Posts)
SwiftAnchor Sat 20-May-17 16:59:41

Heading to San Francisco this summer for 8 days, staying near fisherman's wharf area.

The plan was to hire a car one day to head down the coast to Santa Cruz/Carmel area. I'm now wondering if it would be worth having a car for the full trip or if getting around is fairly straightforward on public transport etc?

I'm a fairly new driver and never driven an automatic or in another country before if this makes a difference but I would hire a small budget range car. I thought I could hire/drop off from the airport (slightly worried about being really tired from the flight but I would try to get a bit of a sleep) and my hotel has parking.

Any advice from anyone who has been would be much appreciated.

babymouse Sat 20-May-17 17:04:50

You don't need a car in the city at all, but you'll need it if you want to go anywhere else. SF drivers are fairly well behaved and the freeways around the city aren't that bad compared to other parts of California (LA anyone?)

allthosewhowanderarenotlost Sat 20-May-17 17:08:15

You do not need a car in San Francisco and parking is quite restricted. Also, there are specific rules on how to park due to the steepness of the hills etc. If I were you I would hire a car on leaving San Francisco. HTH

MrsMontgomerySmythe Sat 20-May-17 17:09:59

Check out Incredible Adventures they do day tours and may go there.
We used them last year in SF and they were great. Much more relaxing than driving especially as you are fairly inexperienced.

OnlyRose Sat 20-May-17 17:11:53

We stayed in San Fransisco for a week and got around fine using buses and cable cars. We walked quite a lot too, as the city is on a grid system it is easy to navigate on foot if you don't mind the hills!

CustardLover Sat 20-May-17 17:13:16

We used uber all the time in SF - fast and frequent and cheap. Plus, walking.

Fauchelevent Sat 20-May-17 17:14:37