Talk

Advanced search

New York Novice

(24 Posts)
HurtleTurtle30 Sun 05-Mar-17 11:33:08

Hi

Planning a trip to NY in June, booked flights already with Norwegian Air as worked out the cheapest. Am a complete novice in terms of travel etc. Farthest I've been in Cyprus and that was in 2003. Worried that I'm missing key elements of preparation. Know we need ESTAs. Travelling with my 23yr old niece and my 11 year old son. First holiday ever for me and my son so want to make it a fabulous one.
Any tips, warnings, what not to do and what to do, you have would be very much appreciated. Staying for 5 nights. Haven't booked hotel yet, on a budget as such (single mum, this is the largest extravagance yet) so nothing too expensive so if you have any recommendations I'd love them too.
Want to make it a great trip to remember, have been doing a lot of research but if anyone has any first hand experience I would love it.
Spending money, was budgeting $200 a day for me and my son (niece will have her own), does that sound reasonable?
Thanks in advance

RusholmeRuffian Mon 06-Mar-17 11:14:34

Have a look at the New York City Pass website. If you plan to do the obvious attractions it will save you money.

Regarding hotels, I have stayed at the Doubletree, the Hampton, Yotel and the Walcott and all were good. If you are prepared to take a bit of a risk it may be worth looking at Hotwire. You can choose a hotel class and area and get some good discounts on secret hotels.

I think your spending money budget is fine as long as you are not eating in fancy places or drinking a lot of cocktails!

There are tons of decent places to eat but avoid eating out on obvious tourist areas such as around Times Square as it will be overpriced.

Use the Subway for distances too far to walk - it's cheap and quick. Taxis can take ages if the traffic is bad.

Have a great time!

bojorojo Mon 06-Mar-17 18:10:12