Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

travel to oz

(37 Posts)
skirmish Sun 18-Feb-07 08:53:37

hiya..i'm new to mumsnet, and am sure there is probably a million threads on this already but need some advice on travelling to oz with a 5mth old such as...

1. is it ok to fly business class or will other passengers be mighty pissed off with a baby crying?!

2. do i need to take the car seat or can i hire one there?

have a million other things but minds gone blank!! hope someone can help!

thanks

AttilaTheMeerkat Sun 18-Feb-07 15:48:23

Of course you can fly business class, you are as entitled to do so as anyone else. However, flying business class to Oz could cost the proverbial arm and leg unless you can bring the cost down by using air miles.

Which airline are you thinking of using?. You going to have a stopover overnight?.

As your baby is only five months he will not automatically have a seat of his own unless you pay for one.

Olihan Sun 18-Feb-07 15:55:40

I would check with the airline whether you could have a bassinet (sky cot) in Business Class. We flew to Singapore with a 5 month old last year and went in Economy with a bassinet. Because it attaches to the bulkhead you get the seats at the front of each section so you get lots more legroom. The bassinet's also useful for dumping stuff in when baby's not in there and means you don't always have to have baby on your lap (you will for take off, landing and when the seatbelt sign is on).

Bear in mind too, that you still have to pay an infant fare for the baby, regardless of whether you have a seat/bassinet. Much better to have a bassinet for your money!

Baysmum Sun 18-Feb-07 16:03:47