Talk

Advanced search

Would you let XH take 16mth daughter on holiday to Thailand?

(15 Posts)
ohnobaby Sun 23-Aug-09 20:31:01

Hi, I'm new to all this, so sorry if I've not get any abbreviations. My DS? (daughter) is 16 months old. We split up a week ago and I have my daughter currently staying in a friends spare room until I find somewhere for us. We are also going on holiday to Cyprus in 2 weeks to see my parents who are retired over there. Since splitting he wants me to put in writing that I'll let her go to Thailand with him for two weeks on a family holiday. I'm really not keen, 1 - he doesn't have parental responsibility as she has an australian birth certificate, 2 - I'm worried about her getting ill 3 - The longest he's ever cared for her on his own is 2 nights when I've gone for a girls weekend - I don't know if he knows her well enough to cope with her for 2 weeks on his own. Fair enough his mum will be there and will help out but I just don't know if it's a good idea. I don't want to say he can't take her if it's going to cause problems for me taking her to Cyprus to see my parents all the time but then I'm just worried that something will happen to her

HecatesTwopenceworth Sun 23-Aug-09 20:36:56

Firstly - are you totally sure that he would bring her back? Not wanting to be alarmist, but is it an amicable break-up? No danger of him not returning her?

If that's not an issue, then I think it depends how involved he is with her. If he sees her a lot, has her for days and is as competent a parent as you are - then fine. He is her dad after all.

If, otoh, he sees her once a month for a couple of hours, then no. He would need a much closer relationship and much more experience of parenting.

maybe 2 weeks in this country first? A trial run.

MovingOutOfBlighty Sun 23-Aug-09 20:38:33

Oh my - I wouldn't let mine out of my sight for that long. I'm sure all would go well etc but still...