Talk

Advanced search

Am i being a Dram Queen about this????

(41 Posts)
Nixz Wed 30-Mar-05 10:04:23

Im quite new to Mumsnet but i really need advice. My Ex lives in Essex, i live in Lancashire. About once every 7/8 weeks he comes to collect our 4 year old daughter. He drives nearly 300 miles to collect her, they both drive 300 miles back to his home,they usually get there about 7pm Friday night, then on sunday at about 3pm they do it all again. My problem is that she drives 600 miles in 48 hours, she doesnt sleep well when shes there, she lives off ice cream and MD's etc etc and when she arrives back home it takes her a week to recover and her Eczema is really bad. All my friends and family complain that its too much for her to handle and say that she needs an extra day there or he needs to visit her at my house and have her stay at holidays etc. I dont know what to do, does everyone do this and as usual im being all dramatic about it?? Please help, he's coming on friday for her!!!!!!!!

Pinotmum Wed 30-Mar-05 10:07:42

Personally, I wouldn't be happy with this. I think your ex needs to make better arrangements. Could he not stay in b&b. I have a dd the same age and couldn't imagine her doing all that travelling.

Beetroot Wed 30-Mar-05 10:08:53

Message withdrawn

Beetroot Wed 30-Mar-05 10:09:58

Message withdrawn

Nixz Wed 30-Mar-05 10:14:00

He is in the forces and says that he may be 'operationally deployed' at any time and CANNOT commit himself in advance. He also says he cant get any extra time off work to come down thurs night or stay extra night! What do i do????

Nixz Wed 30-Mar-05 10:16:01

Beetroot, ive never stopped him from seeing her, im just worried about the effect it has on her and so many people have commented on it lately. He had the option of seeing her easter wknd for as long as he wanted but 'forgot' to organise it!

Twiglett Wed 30-Mar-05 10:16:29

I wouldn't worry about the travelling but I would address the dietary issues and excema