Talk

Advanced search

LP;s who work full time, then split free time with exp- I need success stories!

(13 Posts)
pinguthepenguin Wed 23-Jul-08 13:14:11

Now that fog is clearing and I'm no longer reeling at exp leaving when DD was 2mo, I hAve a new set of worries, my latest being my relationship with my DD

I full til around 6pm Mon-fri. Work commitments (and the need for a break) mean that exp has her one overnight in the week, plus one night at weekend. He also has her one full weekend per month. In essence, this means that I more or less split my free time down the middle with him, apart from holidays, where I have her full time, as I work in Education.

I'm not going to say I don't appreciate the freedom- It's what has held me together, but I am becoming increasingly worried about my DD's attachment to me. She seems rather disintersted in me- is happy as long as someone is around, but isn't bothered who it is. She never seems delighted when I collect from CM- even ignores me sad.
I feel that this is due to the little time she spends with me. On one hand, I want to be her favourite person, and on the other hand, I'm glad that she's so flexible and easy going. She is one year old.

Is there anyone who has has been separated from exp from very early on, who has to work full time, and who has to split their free time with ex? How are your children with you?

Am I spending too little time with her? I guess it really only works out 4- 5 evenings, and all day saturday.

I need to know my DD won't grow up being indifferent to me, or feeling as though I'm offloading her.

allgonebellyup Wed 23-Jul-08 14:13:42

i only see my dc really in the evenings after work and in the mornings, and all school holidays! i only work part time but they are both at school now, so i dont have them during the day much.
They go to their dads every fri night til sun night.