Talk

Advanced search

Son not wanting contact with father

(6 Posts)
scotslaw Thu 10-Jul-08 10:54:55

Hi, Can anyone please help?

I am new to this and looking for as much advice as possible. My son is 9 and has a contact order for him to see his father every second saturday. Contact has been getting worse for the last few months now as when my son goes his father tells him to be violent towards my new partner and swear at him. He has also told my son he wants to kill me many of times. The contact order has been in place for over 6 years now and I have always been back and forward to my solicitor on the way he is being treated and things they tell him which are not right. My son also feel very insecure when he is there and very freightened of his fathers temper. Not so long ago my sons father broke up with his recent girlfriend and it turned nasty with his father smashing the exs car windscreen and he ttold my son all about this and exactly what he had done, not suitable information for a 9 year old. My son would love to sit down with his father and advise him he no longer wants to see him but his father wouldn't listen to this as he is very selfish. My son recently told me he wished his father was dead but I had to explain that he should never wish this upon anyone. Hi father has always been a very violent person towards me and his mother but I would never want my son to find this out as he has to make his own gudgments as I feel if I was to try and push his view he would resent me and I would never do this. I feel his father has been doing this and these are the reasons he no longer wants to go. I have been to a sol but I always find there very unhelpful and I took my son to see one but there opinon is the mother must always be forcing there views on the children but Im not. I just don't know what to do. We are also putting in for a minute to vary at court to have contact cancelled completely as my son is now old enough to express his views to a sheriff but I am