Advertisement

loader

Talk

Advanced search

What do lone parents do for childcare during school holidays?

(16 Posts)
SleepyBearMama Tue 27-Jun-17 08:04:08

My DS is a long way off school age but I have just hit the realisation that it might not "get easier when they go to school" as I work part time in retail so will most likely have to work during school holidays and I have absolutely no help from anyone. I have no family at all and DS dad is not around and DS will be too old for nursery then so would it be a case of trying to fork out for a childminder? Any tips on how anyone manages the long summer hols?

BarchesterFlowers Tue 27-Jun-17 08:08:42

I am not a lone parent but DH used to be away for months at a time. I didn't have anyone I could leave DD with, no family nearby, no help from anyone either.

I used a summer club at an independent school for the week it was on and then used the leisure centre who do holiday clubs. I can't remember how much the school was but the leisure centre was £25 a day for as long as you wanted them to be there between 8:30 and 5.

It isn't easy, the only way is to pay money in your/my shoes.

BarchesterFlowers Tue 27-Jun-17 08:10:43

I also used to take leave and/or work from home which I guess you won't be able to do. Just read your part time bit. I bet a childminder will be your most cost effective option.

Looneytune253 Tue 27-Jun-17 08:14:22

Yep childminder/holiday club/ sports club etc. But try not to see it as 'forking out' once they're at school you're only gonna be paying this a small portion of the year. It is easier than when they're younger and have to pay it year round.

DistortedPerceptions Tue 27-Jun-17 08:15:43