Talk

Advanced search

Tracking my sons location....what do you think?

(15 Posts)
user1478639298 Tue 08-Nov-16 21:37:02

Hey everyone I'm a newbie to all this to please excuse any errors I may make lol. I recently had a scare with my son he's currently in primary school (11 years old) and all his friends are going to school by them selves I personally haven't come to grips with this yet and it's been very hard for me to accept he's growing up and needs to experience independence at first hand. One day he was supposed to meet me at the bus stop that he'd usually get off at anyways as I wanted to go to the shops to get some bits. He was taking longer than usual so I called him and his phone was off!! Bare in mind I wasn't comfortable with this situation in the first place and now his phone wasn't ringing! I panicked and felt so helpless I didn't know what to do especially with the fact that I could of made the journey there and back in the time that his phone was off! It turns out his phone died when he finally made it but since then I've not been comfortable to send him to school alone so I bought a tracker that I can request for his location in an event of an emergency. Do you I'm crazy? Everyone I know hasn't been supportive of the decision and thinks I'm crazy. I feel really upset and have been made out that I'm weird because of it which makes me feel quite abnormal. What I'm trying to figure out is if I should consider getting new friends! I think it's absurd that people would put a tracker on a vehicle but would call someone crazy for putting one on their child. Please let me know your views on this. Many thanks :-)

TimetohittheroadJack Wed 09-Nov-16 15:22:48

Why not make sure his phone in charged and using find my iPhone or android equivalent?

Maudlinmaud Wed 09-Nov-16 15:26:56

Sounds like your anxiety has hit you hard. Could you perhaps speak to your gp.

reallyanotherone Wed 09-Nov-16 15:28:32

What does your son think?