Advanced search

Southeast London Single Parent Houseshare

(5 Posts)
keb302 Sat 13-Aug-16 17:00:08

Hello all!

I have recently separated from my husband and am looking for someone to share my flat with, from the end of November. We (myself and my 3 year old son) live near Peckham Common (SE 22), about a ten minute walk from Peckham Rye station. The room is about 7 x 17ft with lots of storage and the flat is lovely (high ceilings, lots of light); We are nearby lots of shops and cafes and there are two large parks within a 5 minute walk. With council tax/bills included, rent would be about 650/month.

I commute into the city every day with my son, who attends nursery near my work and is with his dad 3 days a week. We are a pretty relaxed bunch and tend to spend our weekends out and about as much as possible. I thought it would be nice to house share with another single parent, both for the extra support (and sharing of wine!) and because it's depressing to watch so much of my paycheck go into paying for rent every month!

Just a few basic things: Potential roommate will need to be working full time hours, have a clean criminal record, and a gentle approach to parenting. Also there won't be a lot of common living space in the flat as the layout is a bit funny, so this would really suit someone who is willing to sacrifice a bit of space to live in a fun, child-friendly area with lots of stuff to do and good links into central London.

If this sounds promising, or you have any questions, please message!

Many thanks,


Blondie1984 Sat 13-Aug-16 17:08:38

Would you consider sharing with someone without children? From what you've described it could suit someone who works in the city - you could even specify Monday to Friday only if you wanted and then you would have a bit more freedom at the weekend

keb302 Sat 13-Aug-16 17:58:55

I just assumed no one without children would fancy living with a 3 year old! But yes of course I would be happy to consider a single roommate as long as they are understanding of everything that comes with living around a toddler. Are you interested?

Duranina86 Sat 13-Aug-16 23:14:14

I am looking for a room too. I have a 19 months old boy,I work from Monday to Friday: on Thursdays I work from 9 am to 9pm beetween Lee and Bromley and the other days from 1pm to7-7:30pm always in Lee.

Blondie1984 Sun 14-Aug-16 00:09:34

I'm not looking at the moment but in the past I have lived in set-ups like that and know many people who do
If you have a look on you will see lots of instances where families (including single parents) are renting out a room

Join the discussion

Join the discussion

Registering is free, easy, and means you can join in the discussion, get discounts, win prizes and lots more.

Register now