Talk

Advanced search

To single parents of children whose absent parent has gone NC...

(18 Posts)
Francescal88 Wed 12-Aug-15 16:21:31

How do you explain to them why they never see or hear from the other parent?

My partner has left me and my eighteen month DS and has said he never wants to see either of us again. What do I say when my DS starts asking where his dad is?

BewitchedBotheredandBewildered Wed 12-Aug-15 16:32:14

I have no experience but didn't want to read and run.

Sorry you're having to deal with this flowers

How long ago did your partner leave? Is there any chance he might change his mind?

MarySlessor Wed 12-Aug-15 18:14:04

My ds is 7 and has never asked about his father. He says he is happy only having one parent. I tried to discuss it with him once but he did not want to talk about it. Ds has high functioning autism. It is maybe something he would find difficult to deal with, that he has a dad who doesn't want to see him.

I don't know what I am going to say to him when he does ask. I will try to be as honest as possible, I think. It is something I worry about.

MarySlessor Wed 12-Aug-15 18:18:58

I read your post again. It is different for you as your ds has been used to having his dad around. My ds has never known his dad.

It must be a difficult situation for you.

charlybear7 Wed 12-Aug-15 20:18:37

I'm having the same problem really. My ex left is 4 months ago. Haven't really had much contact and had none at all now in the last 4 wks. My 4 yr old says he's fine and he misses daddy a little bit and then says he doesn't want to talk about it! It worries me greatly!

I cannot believe the idiot can't and won't even ring him! It angers me greatly!x

starlight2007 Wed 12-Aug-15 21:04:53

I have been through this..My Ds hasn't seen his Dad since 3 now 8... We have been through lots of stages.