Talk

Advanced search

New to mumsnet.. need to talk to someone.

(15 Posts)
Ihateusernames79 Sun 26-Jul-15 15:00:15

Hi everyone,
I'm new to mumsnet and this board. So hi! I really need to talk to someone and I'm going to warn you, I need to say some things which go against the holy grail of parenthood.. I hate being a mum. I hate being a lone parent. I hate how trapped and suffocated I feel ALL the time. I hate how dominating my daughter is. I can't stand the tantrums, the constant demands, the clingyness. I can't stand the fact that I don't have ANY freedom to choose the things that make me feel content in life. I can't even watch something on the tele without it turning into a battle of power and wills. I can't leave the room without her following me. She stands next to me when I'm on the bloody toilet. She is four and a half and I thought by now she'd be starting to get a bit more independent. But the separation anxiety is just as bad and she's frantic about getting things her way all the time. If something doesn't go as she wants she freaks out. On the train to meet her dad the other day she had a half hour tantrum becuase she dropped her crisps. This involved screaming ear shattering screams, kicking, hitting, scratching my face. All I could do was hold her and keep telling her to calm down (I also confisgated her tablet for the weekend as punishment) and then hug her for the next half hour while she got over the tantrum. She is really hard work all the time. She argues with everything and is reflexively obstructive to all requests made of her. And I have never done anything other than caring, understanding parenting. I'd understand this if I'd been cut off and uncaring but I'm a big believer in positive parenting. Admittedly, we have moved recently so we can be closer to my parents and this has taken her further away from her dad. But he's never been that much help anyway so not much has changed in terms of her contact with him.