Talk

Advanced search

Can someone please talk me through applying for benefits?

(16 Posts)
CharCharGabor Wed 05-Feb-14 13:36:02

My xp left on Monday. I was a SAHM, with 3 dcs. So I need to claim benefits atm.

I have never done it before, and I am finding it really overwhelming. I just don't know where to start.

Should I apply for housing benefit first, or income support? Should I cancel my tax credits and make a new claim before any of that? I just don't know what to do sad

expatinscotland Wed 05-Feb-14 13:42:51

If you have a mortgaged home, you may not qualify for benefits, or if you have any savings or assets over a certain amount. If your children are older than 5, you will get Jobseeker's Allowance, not Income Support.

CharCharGabor Wed 05-Feb-14 13:45:03

I am privately renting, and have no savings. My youngest is 1.

expatinscotland Wed 05-Feb-14 13:46:49

Go to the CAB. It's possible the max LHA/HB will not cover all the rent.

GiveTwoSheets Wed 05-Feb-14 13:48:10

Claim income support on the form it will ask if you wish to claim for housing benefit.

Not sure about tax credits maybe phone them up and say about change of circumstances

WanderingAway Wed 05-Feb-14 13:48:11

If you rent you can apply for housing benefit however some private rents dont take housing benefit tenants.

I would apply for them all at the same time. Go to direct.gov.uk and fill out a claim form, phone tax credits and tell them and contact your local authority to apply for housing benefit.

Let me know if you need any more advice/help.

AmIatwat Wed 05-Feb-14 13:50:41

OK, so I'm hoping this is good advice.
Go along to you local jobcentre and ask for an appointment( don't try phoning, you wont get through), You can apply online but in my experience it was hellish, didn't understand the terminology and caused a massive hold up in my getting benefits.
Have with you as much details as you can lay your hands on.
* Proof of address, a utility bill from last couple of months