Talk

Advanced search

Divorcing - a Male viewpoint

(39 Posts)
Endofmyteather1 Fri 31-May-13 16:26:07

I am a newbie to this site and as a male, I thought it would be good to put across a view on Divorce from ‘the other side’.

I am currently going through a divorce, having been with my ex since 1996, but only having been married to her for 5 years. We went through a great deal together, not least 6 years of IVF in order to have our 2 beautiful girls who are 12 and 8.

We had our ups and downs like all couples and whilst I knew that she could be controlling it was manageable, until that ring went on her finger…. After that it all seemed to change. I was consulted less and less on all things children ; my sole role, according to her, was to provide money. She told me this several times….

Things deteriorated from there really and 3 years ago she told me she didn’t love me…(I constantly ask myself “did she even love me when she married me”?) I have my doubts.

Things got so bad that I eventually, and reluctantly, left in January of this year. For the record, I was always faithful to her. I do have a GF now though.

I have filed for divorce and now she pretty much wants everything. We have a lovely large home with around £160,000 of equity in it. She wants ALL of it on the grounds that “there isn’t enough equity for both of us to buy a house so I should have it all”. (Yes, she did actually say this to me).

She remains in the house and still refuses to put the house on the market and I now have to pay out an extra £1,200pm to rent somewhere else.

On my income I should pay £900pm maintenance but I pay the £1,000 mortgage, the £200 council tax and the family car at a cost to me of £300pm. In addition she keeps all her own income (£500), the child tax credits (£135)and her additional benefits of £460. So that’s over £1,000 she has coming in plus all the bills paid….