Talk

Advanced search

RELAXING summer holiday ideas please

(7 Posts)
HaventGotAStitchToWear Tue 30-Apr-13 08:17:13

No idea what to do for summer holidays! Need to relax. Just me, 3 y.o and 6 y.o.

Staying with friends or family might be good or might be stressful!

B&B near the coast could be good for beach fun...

There's a music festival that's kid friendly near me but went last year with not enough friends and was HARD WORK!

Maybe should forget about it and just do day trips, dinners, treat massages, little parties at home and nights out...

Any tips from experienced single parents?

Would be really appreciated as I'm new to this!

Or

HaventGotAStitchToWear Tue 30-Apr-13 08:17:58

*Please ignore that 'Or' at the bottom. Typo!

HaventGotAStitchToWear Tue 30-Apr-13 08:19:23

P.S Butlins etc. and theme parks aren't really my thing!

babyseal Tue 30-Apr-13 13:05:53

Butlins etc isn't really my thing either, but I think I may have struck middle ground between the kids needs and mine and have just booked a caravan holiday on a park with indoor swimming pool, adventure playground, 200m from the beach, but minimal "entertainment". I am thinking that my dc may be bored and clingy, especially if the weather is bad, if there are not other children to run around with and make friends with, and bored and clingy children will not a relaxing break for Mum make!

I think a b and b might be hard work if the weather is bad, as you will have to stay out all day in the rain if it does rain, or is cold. Also, you will probably be sat in a darkened room all evening being quiet as a mouse once the children are asleep. With a caravan at least you have a base you can use all day, with separate rooms, so you can relax in the evenings once kids are in bed.