Talk

Advanced search

Any full time or part time students out there???

(10 Posts)
naughtyorouttacontrol Tue 20-Sep-11 21:42:20

Just wondering how it works with finances for you? If you are full time can you claim any benifits or housing benfit?

If you work part time will you still get tax credits? And do you feel that you live and that is not such a struggle?

confuzzlement Tue 20-Sep-11 21:56:37

If you are a single mum then I believe you can claim benefits if you don't claim a bursary, Im not 100% sure though, thats what I was informed of.

If you work less than 16 hours you will get tax credits and you should be able to claim income support as well, anything over you'll lose income and gain working tax credits and childcare elements dependant on circumstance.

Try looking on the Tax Credits website as you can do an online checker on there as to what you'll get smile

Hope this helps. xx

HauntedLittleLunatic Tue 20-Sep-11 22:02:32

I am a FT student and still get child tax credits, don't get working tax credits but think I would if I was working the 16hrs.

If the bursary is tax free (mine is) it doesn't count towards your income for ctc purposes, neither do any maintenance loans or grants.

Don't know how it works with other benefits tho.

If you are on a course which is eligible for student finance then you can get childcare support thru them at s rate of 85% which is better than the wtc 70%(?)

inmysparetime Tue 20-Sep-11 22:10:10

Also, full time students are exempt from council tax, which should save a few bob. Your student union should be able to offer advice and practical help if you need it.

naughtyorouttacontrol Tue 20-Sep-11 22:38:08

Thank you all for replying, its all so confusung confused

localdiva Wed 21-Sep-11 15:05:46

I'm a p/t student and I get all the usual benefits, income support, housing and council tax. I get a grant from college to cover travel/books and I was exempt from paying fees due to being on IS.