Talk

Advanced search

surname change difficulties :/

(6 Posts)
sarahjstanley Thu 15-Sep-11 11:37:56

I'm new to mumsnet so hi. Long story (isn't it always) short, my son is happy and wanting to change his name to my surname (his dad and me are divorced) and of course, his dad has freaked out. I have 2 reasons to want to change his name-1. He wants do. His dad is not only controlling but right-wing religious (I am the opposite and also gay, so of course everything is because I'm demon possesed) and he hurt my son recently by not letting him wear nail varnish (an interest that I have no idea where it's came from but it's a creative outlet so why not, no one is getting hurt) and 2. His dad was a registered sex offender and although is now off the register, people in the oil industry in Aberdeen (biggest part of aberdeen's economy and workforce) know his name for someone who was perving at women in the toilets at work. I do not want my son (7) attached to that negative legacy of his father but of course, his dad is of the opinion god has forgiven him so it doesn't matter anymore. Also-my son really wants to, but is also saying he doesn't want to tell his dad because he'll 'go mad' any advice is appreciated. I think I can get an unconsenting name change but most of all I want to avoid his dad doing something stupid. He's already texting my son telling him what his name 'really' is and things. It's controlling and confusing to my son and it's difficult to know what to do :/ thanks
s

niceguy2 Thu 15-Sep-11 11:50:07

It's a bit of a minefield really. Try this site:

www.ukdps.co.uk/CanIChangeMyChildsName.html#Section11

sarahjstanley Thu 15-Sep-11 21:26:02