Talk

Advanced search

About to become an LP and I'm worried & anxious - advice please

(10 Posts)
MaisieMama Wed 22-Jun-11 05:24:26

Hi I'm a bit of a newbie so please go easy on me blush

I'm british but currently live in Canada. My husband has decided he's actually a wanderer at heart and wants to live a different life (i.e. one without me and our 2yr old DD). I'm planning to return to London where I have loads more support & will be happy but I'm terrified about being able to afford life in general.

At the moment I'm a stay at home mum - will that have to change? Am I entitled to benefits? Will I be able to live on them? Will they make me go back to work? On top of all the stress of him leaving and suddenly realising I'm going to be a single mum I'm really freaking out about money.

Anyone have any advice/survival tactics?

montbazens Wed 22-Jun-11 09:18:52

Hi there , i am in the exact same situation as yourself at the mo...moving back to uk and equally petrified ! i ve been doing lots of investigating and from what i understand you will have to fill in a 'habitual residancy' form if you try to apply for benefits.. for me its relativelty easy as i returning from eu but canada? not so sure?? theres loads of info on the direct gov website and i have rung the tax office re tax credits and they were very helpful... from what i understand it will take approx 12 weeks for child benefit 20£ pw and as a lone parent should could also get approx 67£pw income support and about 50£pw child tax credits....of course if you have an income or any large amount of savings this would change... if you work more than 16 hrs per week and on a low wage you will get working tax credits and 70% childcare costs paid too which is very helpful i think!