Talk

Advanced search

court

(14 Posts)
Clairebearclaire Wed 15-Jun-11 18:20:39

Hi I'm new to mumsnet it was recomended by a friend. Quick Story please dont judge got married had 2 kids split up (about a year) had another by someone else split up when baby was 2 weeks old (he was violent went to prison was a thief etc etc) got back with eldests 2 kids dad pregnant again due in 8 weeks. Me hubby and eldest 2 have all got same surname and so will new baby. My little girl who's one has ex's surname. She's been brought up by my hubby since she was 3 weeks old he provides everything for her treats her the same as the other kids. Ex has had no contact he's never provided anything for her half of her first year he spent in prison for violence against me. He's just applied for a contact order. I asked his permission to add my surname to my little girls and he refused I've applied to the court to double barrell her last name reasons are so she doesn't have a totally different last name to her siblings. Paid £200 for a order was at court yesterday and I have 7 days to give my reason why its in her best interest to add my name. Help!!!!

Clairebearclaire Wed 15-Jun-11 19:06:02

confused

VioletV Wed 15-Jun-11 19:14:12

Erm personally I'd say so the child doesn't feel left out as her siblings all have the same surname apart from her. I'd also stress you feel your child should have your surname...

I'm sure someone else will come along shortly with a better explanation than mine lol

Clairebearclaire Wed 15-Jun-11 19:17:52

lol Thankyou your explanation was great

Riakin Thu 16-Jun-11 08:38:33

I'm not being funny here... but:

1) you have a violent ex
2) He's now applied for a contact order...

and you are more bothered about how to change your childs name...?

Why not wait until court action is out of the way as regards to contact first, don't fill your plate.