Talk

Advanced search

Help! Looking for your views on being a lone parent

(10 Posts)
fionafebruary Sat 28-May-11 12:17:51

Hi,

I am lone parent to a two year old boy since myself and my husband separated in July last year. I am also a student and am currently doing a research project on public perceptions of the single mother and the labels attached to it, such as being perceived by others as a 'scrounger' or 'bad mother'. I have experienced both of these things myself and am interested to see if anyone else has experienced anything along these lines.

I would be interested to hear about your own personal experiences, how many children you have, your feelings, how you get by financially (whether your work, claim benefits, receive any maintenance (and whether that maintenance is enough for you to support your family), how you manage childcare and whether you feel that you have felt stigamatised by others. I'd also love to hear any of your opinions on whether you feel that the media portrays us accurately, whether the government cuts to tax credits etc.. have affected you and what you would like to see changed.

I also have a short questionaire that I could email you if you'd like to participate - so let me know.

I would really love to hear all your opinions no matter what they are as I think it's important that we can voice how we feel as single parents and how difficult it can be juggling everything

I understand that some of these issues are quite personal but I would really love to hear from you and hear what real mums have to say on the subject.

Thanks in advance!!!

Fiona

gillybean2 Sat 28-May-11 12:33:44

I think you need to contact MN to request info and post surveys etc like this.
Best to check with them on this first imo

fionafebruary Sat 28-May-11 12:37:59

Thanks, I will do that - but the survey is optional and I would send it via email, not forcing anyone to participate.