Talk

Advanced search

help ex ruining my life

(10 Posts)
toody Mon 15-Nov-10 01:01:38

went to see solicitor about limiting ex access to son was told ball in my court i can decide when he should see him he never wanted much to do with son now i told him i have new partner suddenly wants son more know this is just to spite me but i am worried can he do this, also his texts can be nasty sometimes i feel intimidated can i tell him he can only text once day to ask about son, i just feel so confused and worried all the tme he is ruining my life speaking to solicitor tomorrow but can't sleep tonight.

Rollercoasteryears Mon 15-Nov-10 14:08:46

Hi toody, hard luck, it sounds like a miserable position to be in. I'm a family solicitor and am happy to give you the following thoughts that spring to my mind.

First a question: how old's your son?

I assume you don't have any formal agreement or court order about your ex's contact with your son in place at the moment?

If you have a formal agreement or a court order, then no he can't just suddenly start demanding to see your son more. If he wants to vary an existing agreement or order, he has to go through the proper channels (i.e. your solicitor or apply to court).