Intimidated by prep school parents

(9 Posts)
notpushyparent Wed 19-Mar-14 16:55:24

Hi, I'm looking at schools for my DS - not for a couple of years yet but seems you need to start early.

Anyway, I'm new to the whole private schools thing (was state school all the way) but husband is set on it.

All the schools I've looked at have been really lovely but I'm a bit worried about what the other families will be like. I keep hearing tales about how 'pushy' mums at these schools are. Two recent ones were alpha mothers fighting in the playground at Thomas' and mothers not being allowed to wear jeans to pick up kids from Broomwood.

Can anyone tell me what it is really like being a mum with kids at these schools? Will I have to buy a whole new wardrobe of clothes and a range rover just to do the school run in?

I want the best education for my son, but am in no way an alpha mummy myself so am a bit nervous about how we'd fit in.

sw12 Wed 19-Mar-14 17:04:46

Hmm, good friend of mine with kids at one of the schools you mention talks about being ignored by the 'Mean Girls' at parents' events.

That said, you get plenty of cliques at the school gates at state schools too.

DonsDrapers Wed 19-Mar-14 17:17:32

Fitting in is important for you and DC have you looked at state options? What does your husband say about it.

ka26 Wed 19-Mar-14 18:10:40

I can tell you with 100% certainty that it is complete rubbish that Mum's cannot wear jeans when picking up their children at Broomwood! It id a super school. All schools have their share of pushy and competitive parents!

LocalEditorWandsworth Wed 19-Mar-14 19:24:30

Ha, ha!

I think we may have been responsible for the Broomwood jeans rumour - well at least this old post by an MNetter - www.mumsnet.com/Talk/primary/403420-sw-london-private-schools-looking-for-opinions