Wix Primary - has it improved? Any alternatives?

(4 Posts)
lalectrice Fri 15-Jul-11 14:46:46

Having resigned ourselved to being pretty much priced out of the Belleville/Honeywell catchments, we're looking at moving to a house on the Northside of the Common, but the '09 Wix Ofted report doesn't make for massively encouraging reading (I am a teacher, which doesn't help when it comes to being suspicious of the deceptively neutral-sounding euphemisms one encounters in Ofsted-speak...).

Does anyone have a child at Wix and, if so, what are your experiences of the school? Has it improved at all? Is there an alternative that doesn't involve going private? We'd be v happy with the bilingual stream (I am half-French), but with only 14 state places available we'd be very lucky to get in... Any advice appreciated.

jappa Tue 26-Jul-11 21:59:13

Hi there
I can only give you a very limited viewpoint as I have no direct experience of Wix. We were offered a place for my son for this September, we live off Lavender Hill, and were out of catchment for Belleville. We decided against it in the end, and have taken a place at a private school, BUT, I know a friend who's daughter went there last year and who had nothing but praise for the school. Admittedly they were always going to move out after the reception year, but they also worked in the education field, and thought that Wix was a very good school. I think the alternative in the immediate area would be Clapham Manor, which has an outstanding Ofsted report, but is probably also out of catchment for you. It is a big problem in our area and a new school is badly needed. There is talk of a new free school, but who knows if and when that will happen.