Moving to Reigate or Horsham

(7 Posts)
Kat8019 Sun 12-Mar-17 08:57:28

Hi, this is my first time posting on Mumsnet as I'm really struggling to make an informed decision between 2 great places to live. Reigate or Horhsham. We are in our late 30s and have a 15 month old boy and need to move out of London for more space. Both places have fab schools by the sounds of it. Reigate we can afford less house for our money than Horsham but a pretty period smaller property versus a larger new build in the centre of Horsham. We love Reigate but worry if we get in a good catchment for primaries then by the time it comes to secondaries we might need to move house? Be lovely if anyone has any pros and cons or Reigate and best areas to look at for school catchments. It does seem full of lots of young families with lots to do which is perfect. Do people tend to stay long term in Reigate until their children have grown up? Would love to settle somewhere now and make a base. My husbands family are from Surrey so it could be ideal despite and worth compromising on what we can afford to buy! smile

LIZS Sun 12-Mar-17 09:12:15

I don't think you need worry overly about secondaries in Reigate yet. St Bedes Redhill is the go-to state option if you have a religious affiliation, Reigate School or Ashcombe Dorking otherwise, with Warwick, Royal Alexandra and Albert also in the area and a new academy planned.There is also Reigate 6th form college. The more pressing issue surrounds primary school places as demand is high and there are often over subscriptions, although this is slowly being addressed. There also used to be mainly separate infant and junior schools, meaning you reapply at 7, but expansion of schools like Sandcross and Parish means fewer have to do so now. Surrey doesn't have catchments btw, although distance is used to rank applications and in practice you need to live fairly close to either Parish, Holmesdale or Wray Common if you want to choose one of those.