moving to oxford

(11 Posts)
younglady25 Wed 27-May-15 20:13:29

Hi everyone, I'm moving to Oxford in a couple of months to work in Headington and I've seen a couple of flats on Between towns road in Cowley - just wandering what people think about the area. I don't have any kids [yet], I'm just a young professional who trusts the opinions of mums more than google lol

raggiedoll Wed 27-May-15 20:22:28

Pros:
It's on the edge of the Florence Park area which is nice and close to the actual park.
It is v close lots of shops like Sainburys, TK Maxx, Boots and others.
It joins Iffley and Cowley Rds so easy bus transport into town.
An easy cycle ride to Headington too. Nearish ring road so easy to get out of town.
Closeish to bars restaurants of Cowley Rd.

Cons:
A bit of a through area - a busy road between places! On the edge of Flo Park area but the less nice edge IMO.
The shopping centre is a bit grim, tho getting better slowly.
School catchment not great(for future?)

All in all, if you're single and it's affordable it's probably ok but it's definitely not dream home land. If you're renting might be good to have it as a base then be able to think more broadly once you know the area more.

Hope that helps. Happy to offer tuppence-worth of anywhere else that comes up!

younglady25 Thu 28-May-15 23:37:11

Thank you so much Raggiedoll, that's all so useful! Yes I'm single, no plans for kids at least for a couple of years. I was thinking along the same lines: somewhere safe and affordable for the next year + easy commute to work. And then get to know Oxford better before looking for somewhere more permanent and thinking about school catchment etc.

Thanks again for the info on the area!

LeapingLizard Fri 05-Jun-15 06:51:30

Yes, great for transport. Various bus lines come together there. Can be loud late at night for that reason, esp right near the pub and all night Dominos Pizza. But that is true of many areas.

younglady25 Sun 07-Jun-15 23:56:05