family-friendly streets in Harpenden / St Albans

(19 Posts)
freddiemum Sun 06-Jul-08 21:05:45

Do you remember the days when children used to play out in the streets with the neighbours' children? I might be hopelessly idealistic here, but if any such areas still exist, I'd love to move into one. We're looking to buy a house in the local area and would LOVE to know about developments with communal gardens / friendly streets / cul-de-sacs etc. in which children actually play oudoors, together. smile

Swedes Tue 08-Jul-08 14:56:38

Hello - I'm a Harpenden resident. What's your budget? How old are your children?

freddiemum Sat 12-Jul-08 17:16:47

Hi! Thanks for coming back to me. I guess we could go up to about 350K. My children (both boys) are six and one.

freddiemum Sat 12-Jul-08 17:16:50

Hi! Thanks for coming back to me. I guess we could go up to about 350K. My children (both boys) are six and one.

edam Sat 12-Jul-08 17:20:10

Look for cul de sacs built in the 70s - plenty around Southdown and Aldwickbury in Harpenden. (You'd get a three bed modernish end terrace for your money - although with prices on the slide, you might get a semi in Southdown.)

edam Sat 12-Jul-08 17:21:19

In fact, you could have my house - just let me tidy up a bit first! grin Ds plays out with the other kids because it's a cul de sac where we all know each other and can keep an eye out.

princessmel Sat 12-Jul-08 17:41:16

My street is like this!

We're in the Chiswell Green area of St Albans.

BellaBear Sat 12-Jul-08 18:44:06

My street is very friendly and I've seen kids playing out. It's a cul-de-sac off cottonmill lane. Probably a bit cheaper than your budget though!

edam Sat 12-Jul-08 22:24:18

ooh, Princessmel, I am very jealous of that fab adventure playground you have in Chiswell Green. envy

freddiemum Sun 13-Jul-08 09:19:22

Wow, what a fantastic response! Thanks! grin

freddiemum Sun 13-Jul-08 09:27:35

My six-year-old writes...