nurseries in Haringey

(25 Posts)
mrsbaldwin Mon 12-Jan-09 17:57:44

I'll get the ball rolling with a thread about nurseries in the borough. Maybe others with views/reviews wanted to post to this thread also? If there is some good material it could be saved for posterity!

My baby is not due until March 2009, so I can only report what I've observed on a couple of visits to nurseries in N22. Readers should note I have no experience with nurseries and babies - so I can only say what I saw and how I felt after my short trips.

I've been to Noah's Ark in Mayes Road and Bowes Park Nursery near Bounds Green Tube to have a look.

Bowes Park has a slightly better OFSTED score than Noah's Ark but I liked Noah's Ark better of the two.

Here are my bullet points on each:

Noah's Ark:
*loved the manager, a petite livewire called Effie. When I visited it was Children In Need day and she was dressed as Wonder Woman. She was informative, 'can-do' and all the children seemed to like her - as we toured the nursery they all came to show her things
*it's independently owned, by her family (she runs it, her dad and uncle bankrolled, I believe)
*it has an unprepossessing location on Mayes Road opposite the job centre, but once inside I felt a bit like I was in a nice parallel universe
*the staff were a mix of ages and ethnicities (the latter reflecting the kids) - running the baby room there was a young woman and an older lady
*the kids looked as if they were all playing happily (apart from one wailing toddler whose mum had just dropped him off, who was getting a cuddle from an NN)
*I didn't see lunch or menus - but my other half did when he went (the managers mum is the cook)
*it was clean as a whistle and everything not being used was tidy
*it takes 40-50 children tops (so quite small)
*the downside - the premises are not the most spacious you've ever seen and the outside space is tiny although nicely decorated and maintained

Bowes Park: