Dissertation

(9 Posts)
Fionaedinburghresearch Wed 19-Oct-11 19:29:46

hello,

I am a 4th student at Edinburgh University and am conducting my research on usage and interaction on the Glasgow Underground. I would be interested to know how mothers with children access/use the subway - whether it is on a daily basis - and how they find it in accessibility/safety etc. Comments in response to this thread would be extremely helpful to my research. Thank you,

Fiona

MintChocAddict Thu 20-Oct-11 00:12:44

Hi,

I don't find the subway particularly child friendly at all. No lift access for buggies. Tend to use it as a treat for children as am always exhausted by the time I reach the platform.

Recently a nice subway staff member told me to ask for the glass gate to be opened to let the buggy through. This was after 4-5 years of taking babies out of buggies and hoiking the folded pushchair over the barrier with one hand while holding wriggly child in other hand and older child by the hood. Wish someone had told me sooner.

Even with the gate open still have to fold the buggy before reaching escalator though, so all in all a bit of a faff and then have to do it all again at the other end. Prefer the train.

HTH. smile

suzikettles Thu 20-Oct-11 21:10:46

I agree with MintChoc. I didn't start using the subway until ds was out of a buggy because of the lack of lifts and there are rarely any staff outside the ticket office to offer any help.

It's also not like a city like London where it's a fairly comprehensive network. Great if you want to go from Merkland St to Buchanan St, but if you're outside the circle, or between stops like I am, you're likely to have a bus or train service that suits you better.

suzikettles Thu 20-Oct-11 21:12:53