Bewildered by choice of swimming classes - need some help

(16 Posts)
codswallopandbalderdash Fri 15-Sep-17 07:58:08

I really need to get DS aged 4 to start swimming. He has always resisted the idea and absolutely hated it the couple of times I took him as a baby. He still gets hysterical when he gets water in his ears in the bath!

There are so many organisations providing swimming classes I really don't know where to start. I was also keen to be in the pool with him at the start but I think most places say by age 4 he has to go in by himself

Also in terms of Edinburgh pools, which ones are the most family friendly?

I was a bit horrified to read the RCP doesn't have shallow steps leading to the teaching pool. Are they all like this? Many years ago when I learned to swim (not in Edinburgh) the children's pools all had very shallow ends. I have no experience of swimming in Edinburgh!

All advice / guidance welcome

craiglockhartmo Fri 15-Sep-17 10:39:40

I was in this position last year with my 4 year old and we did one-to-one lessons with Edinburgh swim school at Nuffield gym at Chesser. I was in the pool for the first few weeks and the teacher took things really slowly and went at my kid's pace with no pressure. The pool is deep but I think they also use a pool at their gym at Fountain Park which has a kid's shallow bit so might be worth looking into that.
Swimeasy also does individual lessons I think in various pools around the city and I've heard good things about them too.
Good luck with this, I found it really stressful but my son is now making good progress in a group lesson which I didn't think would be possible this time last year.

codswallopandbalderdash Fri 15-Sep-17 15:13:09

Thank you so much for your reply Craighockhartmo. I feel completely rubbish that I haven't addressed this yet. My DH doesn't swim at all so this one is up to me.

Dentistlakes Fri 15-Sep-17 15:14:01