Relocating to Cornwall

(12 Posts)
Emese84f Fri 03-Nov-17 15:27:25

Hi everyone,
I am new to Mumsnet, joined so can ask for some information and help.
We are planning to relocate to Cornwall, possibly Truro. Cornwall is amazing, we have fallen in love when we first visited and not too later after decided we must go for it. The plan is to move in August , after the school has ended so the children (4 and 7) can start in the new school in September. We were thinking Truro or Falmouth. My only concern is that we are not British , we are Hungarian and i hear so many stories what makes me nervous and question if we are making the right decision or not.
Can you please advise me if I have anything to worry about moving there or are there any places we should avoid ?
Thank you for your help
Emese

DeadDoorpost Fri 03-Nov-17 23:00:07

I personally would avoid cambourne but that's mainly coz I have a personal dislike for the area and there's always sto4ies going round about the place. Doesn't mean they're all true but I grew up with them so it's kind of silly but there we go.
Truro can be expensive to live in though but there are plenty of schools around and Truro College in the future is also a very good college.
Falmouth can also be expensive but it is beautiful. The only concern is have for you is living close to a load of student flats design as you have young children. Sometimes they can be very loud and inconsiderate, sometimes you have amazing student neighbours. I've recently graduated from Falmouth Uni so I know what they're like but the schools there are also really lovely.

pickledparsnip Sat 04-Nov-17 09:26:29

Hi, I live in Falmouth. Didn't want to read and run. I'm off out in a mo, but will come back and reply properly later.

OrchidShmorchid Sat 04-Nov-17 16:47:49