Childbirth - Llandough or UHW?

(30 Posts)
DuelingFanjo Fri 20-Aug-10 15:50:47

Hi all

I read this story about the closure of Llandough maternity unit today and it's made me wonder about changing my choice of where to give birth.

I am due in December so could give birth in Llandough instead of UHW before they close it.

Can anyone tell me what the pros and cons of Llandough are?

JamieJay Fri 20-Aug-10 16:09:28

I have no experience of Llandough but have just given birth in the MLU at UHW and can't praise it highly enough. Fab facilities and midwives and lovely en suite double room that allowed DH to stay with DD and I for the first night.

I know a few people who have given birth at Llandough and they've been similarly happy with their experience.

The only thing that would swing UHW for me was the fact I have quite a bad internal tear (fast birth) which meant a trip to theatre.

At UHW this simply meant a ride in a lift and then back down to the MLU to recover where as Llandough would have been an ambulance transfer and possibly (I don't know for sure) having to stay on the main ward rather then transfer back to Llandough.

Good luck

DuelingFanjo Fri 20-Aug-10 16:24:15

oh, thank you for all the info. Was the double rooom something you paid for or does everyone get that?

Also - what was the breastfeeding support like?

supersalstrawberry Fri 20-Aug-10 16:30:14

Message withdrawn at poster's request.

123molb Fri 20-Aug-10 16:34:04

I agree with JamieJay's post...I had both my children at UHW (the youngest born in April) and my experience was fab.

I was on the Consultant Led Care as I said prior to the birth that I wanted an epidural and when I came in with waters broken & contractions, I was given an epidural very quickly. The staff were so nice & had my own room throughout the labour, and then transferred to a ward with one other mum and was discharged less than 24 hrs later!